“Do you dance like you’re Chinese?” [Peril – Lia Incognita]

“You haven’t met the likes of me before, but instead of enlarging or exploding your categories I’m always hovering outside, I’m an exception. But the days have passed where I would wear my exceptionalism as a badge of pride, now I say no, I’m just Chinese. I’m a mass-produced serialised export of the PRC and all those yellow hordes are as exceptional as me, as complicated as me, every one of us is large and contains multitudes. I might be the only one on your radar quoting Walt Whitman but there’s a solid billion of us so I guarantee I’m never the only one doing anything, and no matter how many glittery queer scenesters you see around me, those yellow hordes are my people.”

-Lia Incognita

http://www.peril.com.au/peril/2013/05/02/do-you-dance-like-youre-chinese/

